What is the best definition of Customer lifetime value (CLV)?

By Jon Ane

The Customer lifetime value is the predicted net profit value related to a customer’s future activity.

There are several ways to calculate CLV. Here is an easy one:

Formula:

Annual profit contribution per customer (x) Average number of activity years (-)

the cost of customer acquisition

For instance:

  • Yearly Profit produced by the customer = 500
  • Years of predicted activity = 7 years
  • cost of customer acquisition = 300

The customer lifetime value of this customer would be:

(500 x 7)-300=3,200.

There are other ways to calculate CLV.

Do Make sure all tactics in use would create synergy with your G-POST. Or else you might jeopardise it all. For more information, visit Jon Ane, The Rosetta Stone of Strategy.

www.jon-ane.com/strategy-vs-tactic/187771/

G-POST STRATEGY TOOL – strategy – “Pseudo strategy will hamper your operation and might lead you to target a shadow of a mountain as the mountain.” Jon Ane, The Rosetta Stone of Strategy.